Princess & Penguin Formalwear

Facebook Icon  Google Icon

(785) 825-2922

By Appointment

Tuesday - Friday, 11:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Formal Wear

Customer Reviews

Google Reviews

Check out more of our reviews on Google and Facebook. Leave a review for your chance to win $$$.


Bride and Groom 

"I fell in love with this shop after I saw their dresses during a Bridal Show in Manhattan, KS. I traveled to Salina a few days later and after trying on a few dresses, I found the one :) The ladies here are all so kind and was very helpful & attentive. Thank you for helping make me feel beautiful on my big day :) I had multiple people tell me i looked like a Disney princess lol." - Kayla, June 2019

"People there were so nice and awesome, made our wedding experience that much more special. Karess was amazing and very helpful." - Kendall, May 2019

"Can't say enough good things about Caresse and her team! They have went above and beyond to make my experience amazing and even though I did not get my dress there (which I WISH I could have!) she was very helpful, patient, and understanding! It was also very nice that it was a one stop shop for the wedding as we were able to purchase our bridesmaid dresses, tux's, mother of the bride dress, and more from the shop!" - Ashley, May 2019

"Outstanding selection, service & attention to detail by knowledgeable & courteous staff." - Lizette, May 2019
 

"So I was graduating from college a few weeks back and I had an award ceremony that I needed to find a shirt for. However I wanted this shirt to have the cuff link holes because I had cuff links that I wanted to wear. Being the procrastinator that I am I waited until the day before the awards ceremony to attempt to look for a shirt. No other place had shirts with cuff link holes in the area. Not Kohl’s, not JC Penny’s, no one. So I called Princess and Penguin as a last ditch attempt to find a shirt with the expectation that once they found out the event was the next day they would tell me there was nothing they could do. Regardless I explained my situation and from the second I called I received arguably the best customer service that I have ever had. I believe I was speaking with Caresse and she told me that if I could come in and get my measurements taken then she could ask their supplier to do a rush order and have the shirt for me by tomorrow morning. I went in and Caresse was so nice and accommodating that I decided right on the spot that even if she wasn’t able to get the shirt for me I would give them the best review I could. They so empathetic with my situation and did everything they could to help me out. The rushed order ended up getting approved and I received the shirt I needed. Not only was it very reasonably priced but it was honestly one of the most comfortable dress shirts I’ve ever owned. Bottom line is, if you are going any other place for your dress clothes needs, you’re making a HUGE mistake. Give this place your business you will not regret it." - Shereef, May 2019

"These ladies have been wonderful with helping pick out my dress to my fittings love this place!!!" - Christy, April 2019

"My first experience with Princess and Penguin in Salina Kansas was amazing. We found an affordable dress and we are able to get accessories with a two week notice before prom. I would highly recommend shopping here because the staff is courteous professional and very helpful!" - Christa, April 2019

"They have a great selection of tuxedos. They take the time to get your measurements for a sharp looking fit for the guys. They have supplied the prom tux for Patrick Giersch the last two years and he looked dapper." - Karla, April 2019

"Recommendations are high!!!!! They went above and beyond to make sure that my daughter's dress fit absolutely perfect, and I appreciate you so much!! Both yrs for prom turned out amazing with beautiful dresses." - Mandy, April 2019

"What can I say? The most unique and beautiful gowns I've seen. And right here in Salina, KS. We are lucky to have them. Thank you for helping make my daughter's prom truly memorable." - Melanie, April 2019

"Thank you so much to the staff at Princess and Penguin!!! They were so helpful and kind to me, and helped pick the perfect dress for my flute concerto with the Kansas Wesleyan University Wine Ensemble tonight!! I highly recommend!!!" - Rose, March 2019

"I was in town for a wedding and had a last minute dress crisis. In a panic I found Princess and Penguin Bridal Shop and the ladies there calmed me down, fixed my dress and saved the day 1 hour before I had to be at the wedding. Thank you for the superior service. :)" - Laurie, March 2019

"I had an amazing experience here! I can't thank my sweet stylist, Linda, enough! From the moment I walked in, the ladies made me feel very comfortable, were patient, and did their absolute best to help me find a dress that I loved. I would highly recommend giving Princess & Penguin the opportunity to help you find the perfect dress! Best customer service I've ever experienced. Thank you!" - Ester, March 2019

"I found my wedding dress! Such amazing costumer service! They are friendly and make it so comfortable. Totally worth the appointment!" - Haley, March 2019

"I hate clothes shopping and was concerned I might not find a dress I loved.... I WAS WRONG... I had the best help and found my perfect dress! loved my experience and 100% recommend shopping at princess and penguins." - Jenna, March 2019

"We shopped at Princess and Penguin for our Prom dance. After searching all the stores in the surrounding area - the Salina store has the best quality and selection at a great price!" - Cindy, February 2019

"The customer service was amazing, needless to say!! My bridal experience was TOP NOTCH!! I'm so incredibly happy that I found out about this store! I look forward to all of my future bridal appointments to finalize my dream dress!!" - Richelle, February 2019

"10/10 recommend!! I had such an awesome experience here picking out my wedding dress & can’t wait to go back in about a week to find my bridesmaids dresses. Awesome people!! :)" - Brooke, January 2019

"Amazing customer service! Walked in not really knowing what I wanted, but I had an idea. Walked out with the dress I never would of tried and I fell in love! Best dress shop in Salina, hands down!" - Stephanie, January 2019

"I had the best experience here! The visits to the shop were always fun and my dress fit perfectly!" - Nikki, January 2019


"After many, many hours spent looking for the perfect dress for my daughters prom we found this amazing store. The service was second to none and the selection of beautiful gowns was refreshing. The owner was so attentive and she covered every detail. Long story short, she is doing everything right. From start to finish I cannot sing her praises enough. We have many other events that we will be needing these same services and Princess & Penguin Formalwear has more than earned our return business!"

"I had a wonderful experience here . Lisa was very helpful and was interested in my story and attentive to what I was looking for. She made me feel at ease and was very knowledgeable about the dresses." - Heidi, January 2018

"Had an the best experince with Lisa today! Found the most amazing wedding gown I could ever dream of. She really took great care of me and was worth the trip to Abilene. The dress is so perfect, I'm in love!" - Bethany, January 2018
 

Bride by Train

"I was so excited to go look at wedding dresses with my daughter. I have watched say yes to the dress for several years and I was expecting to have that type of experience. To my surprise I did that experience.. It was such a great time and we were treated so well. I will say if anyone is in the Kansas area and looking to find a beautiful wedding dress and have a great experience give Lisa a call and book that appointment. Lisa was amazing and so patient will all us crazy people. Thank you for helping my daughters dreams come to light finding the most beautiful dress and it was not over priced at all. Thank you again." - Lori, January 2018


Bride and Bride's Maids 

"My very first visit to try on wedding dresses was more than i imagined! The selection was wonderful. I highly recommend Abilene Bridal to everyone!!" - Jordyn, August 2017

"I had an absolutely great experience working with Abilene Bridal! I found my dress on the first visit to the store and Caresse was very helpful. I also got my veil, hair piece, and earrings here. My veil went with my dress perfectly. We also ordered our tuxes with them and everything went so smoothly. Would highly recommend. Great people and great service!" - Taylor, August 2017
 

"I found my dream wedding dress. Cannot thank this shop enough!" - Jade, August 2017

"Thank you Careese for all your help. We have had a wonderful experience and I have a happy bride to be on my hand. You and your staff are amazing!" - Judy, May 2017

"You guys saved the day with my wedding dress! Im so grateful for the help I received an the encouraging words from everyone! You all are truly the best bridal shop out there!" - Taylor, May 2017

"Finally able to bring my dress home today! Can't say enough kind words for what the ladies at Abeline Bridal & Formalwear have done to make my dream dress look PERFECT! Wouldn't take my dress anywhere else. Thank you again." - Breanna, May 2017

"Bought my renewal wedding gown here amazing service! 10 +stars amazing and very informative. Buy here very honest and caring even for indecisive brides!worth every penny and more!" - Peggy, February 2017


"Absolutely amazing! Caresse and her staff were so great! From helping me find my dream dress without being pushy to helping us order suits, getting measurements and making sure we loved everything. They were so quick to help us on last minute things and I had so many compliments on my jewelry made by Caresse and on how great my dress fit me. We have been recommending this company to everyone we know!" - Whitney, October 2016
 

Bride with Children

"After going to numerous bridal shops and being to the point of running off to Vegas to get married in a drive thru we came across this place now ladies if you need a wedding dress go here first save the time and hassle! Caresse is an angel!!! she is very helpful and helped me find a dress and it's affordable!! I would tell everyone to go here! This is the best damn bridal shop in Kansas!!! Love it!!! :)" 

"So happy with the service we received and the variety of merchandise to choose from. I highly recommend Abilene Bridal and Formalwear!" - Jo, October 2016

"It's hard to find businesses that are willing to put such a large amount of time and effort into customer satisfaction. Caresse and her girls tended to my every need, want, and concern. It was a 'one stop shop' for all of my bridal attire! I seriously am 200% satisfied and will always tell friends and family to try Abilene Bridal & Formalwear first! Just look at the list of things I bought all in one place... Wedding Dress, rented all of my tuxes here, headband, custom jewelry, custom made flower girl dress, bridesmaid dresses, and mother of the bride dress!" - Emily, October 2016

"Oh my gosh where to begin with Careese and her Bridal and Formalwear store. When I first began my wedding dress shopping adventure I wasn't even sure where to begin. I had done some looking online and found the general style I liked but like most people you don't know til you put it on. I had called around and tried to get appointments with places and it just wasn't working out. I found Abilene Bridal and Forma online by chance when I was in Abilene but they were closed. So I came back the next day when they were open and just so happen to be when Careese was there. I didn't have an appointment it was all by luck she had JUST had a cancellation when I walked in and said she had an opening! I was thrilled something about finding a dress in this beautiful little store in Abilene KS was exciting. She was so amazing about being flexible and helpful and so nice about how much of an unorganized mess I was. We pulled 3 dresses of be rack I fell in love with the 1st one I saw on the rack and it was the 2nd one I tried on I didn't even try on the last one. The dress fit perfect no alterations needed! She did an amazing job with fittings and pinning ans helping me with picking out my veil and accessories and shoes. It was a smooth and wonderful experience and I would DEFINITELY recommend her store to anyone. And even if it's not a wedding any event for prom or formal events or even just alterations! She's amazing! And her store is so wonderful with their selections and friendly staff. Loved it! Thanks Careese for making one of the major parts of my big day so great!" - Kailey, October 2016

"WOWWW! This store I would recommend to anyone!! Caresse was such a delight and made my shopping experience better than I ever imagined! THANK YOU Caresse and Abilene Bridal & Formalwear! I can say I found my dream dress." - Katie, October 2016

"I love this store and the service! They are very friendly and helpful when finding that perfect dress in your budget. I would definitely recommend this store and their store in Salina ks." - Amber, August 2016

"I purchased two mother of the groom dresses from Caresse. One from Abilene Bridal and one from Princess and Penguins. When my middle son got married I had shopped at Hays, KC, and Wichita and went to Abilene and found a gown that was just perfect. Caresse designed the cover and a bracelet for me. She also completed the look with accessories. I received many compliments at the wedding. A year later my youngest son got married. I had a type of dress in mind and stopped at Princess and Penguins. Caresse didn't have exactly what I wanted so she designed what I described. It turned out beautiful. She also accessorized my gown for this wedding. I was very pleased with the results. If you want a wonderful experience and quality I would definitely begin at either Abilene Bridal or Princess and Penguins. You won't have to waste a lot of time looking any further!" - Luanne, August 2016

"Everyone is super helpful and made my dress perfect for my big day! I wouldn't have gone anywhere else. I highly recommend Abilene Bridal!" - Morgan, July 2016

"After a horrible shopping experience at David's Bridal, I found a dress at a different location. I came into this shop to look for a head piece and the owner said that she could also do my alterations since the shop I bought my dress from doesn't do them. I was nothing but impressed. The service was amazing and the complicated alterations came out fantastic! I also found an amazing head piece here!" - Katelyn, May 2016

"Great experience. ...super nice and helpful!! My daughter is so happy with her dress for prom!" - Erin, April 2016

"After a terrible shopping experience at a different store (let's just say it rhymes with Smavid's) I called Caresse for help. I had seen the wonderful show her team puts on at The Flint Hills Bridal Show. She offered to work with me personally and we scheduled an appointment at Princess and Penguin. Even before my appointment her staff was helpful over the phone. We promptly received a warm greeting when we came into the store and staff was super friendly. I tried on a few dresses and Caresse was able to take my likes from those and found one dress that fit what I wanted- even pulled it off a display for me. The entire staff was so wonderful making sure my guests were comfortable as well. I never felt rushed or pressured. All the employees also seemed invested in helping me find the right dress even if they weren't working with me directly. We all laughed and joked - even about adding poof or oof to my dress (had to be there). If I could give more than 5 stars I would! Thank you Caresse and staff for making this experience so much better than what I went through when I, stupidly, shopped a horrible store the 1st time!" - Aubrey, February 2016

"The owner is super sweet and friendly. She was so helpful in finding me the perfect dress for the military ball!! I would definitely recommend coming here if you want to find a beautiful dress and staff who goes out of their way to make you feel special." - Marybeth, January 2016


"I am truly blessed to have found such an amazing prom dress that really shines and brings out my inner self! My experience here was amazing thank you!!"

"I couldn't find the dress I wanted. Came here and they created exactly what I was envisioning. So very, very happy!! I highly recommend this business." - Andrea, December 2015

"I have had the best experience looking for a wedding gown here and at the Salina store Princess and Penguins! The owner Caresse is amazing and does everything she possibly can to make you feel beautiful and help you find the perfect dress! Not pushy and very personable! I'd highly recommend going here for beautiful affordable gowns and excellent customer service!!!" -Hailey, October 2015

"Most wonderful lady to have help you on your special day(:" - Annie, September 2015

"Beautiful gowns and very nice service im glad i got my beautiful prom dress here!" - Lyndy, March 2015

"I wanted to check this store out after the great job they did at the Flint Hills Bridal Show and they sure held up to my expectations! The owner did a great job helping me saying "yes to the dress!" Not to mention the sweet thank you note I got in the mail the next week. She was completely honest and very helpful. I do not regret doing business here and can't wait for my next dress fitting!! I definitely recommend giving this shop a look, you won't regret it!!" - Alexis, February 2015